Who won British Fashion Awards 2010

Who won British Fashion Awards 2010

Another year of inspiring fashion creation has been highlighted by the British Fashion Awards 2010. During a glamorous ceremony at The Savoy Hotel and Theatre last evening, the British Fashion Council announced the winners in 12 award categories related to fashion.

[ Watch the video ]

Phoebe Philo, Creative Director of Celine, won the prestigious British Designer of the Year Award. An award for Outstanding Achievement in Fashion Design was given post-mortem to four time winner of British Designer of the Year award, Lee Alexander McQueen, in recognition for his extraordinary career.

From left to right: Phoebe Philo of Celine, British Designer of the Year. Alexa Chung, British Style Award. Nicholas Kirkwood, Accessory Designer Award, with Claudia Schiffer. Photos by Billa Baldwin.

“This year’s British Fashion Awards winners represent extraordinary talent, encompassing the best new and established designers, brands, stylists, models and innovators on all platforms of fashion”, said Harold Tillman CBE, Chairman, British Fashion Council. The British Fashion Awards celebrates excellence driven by this country’s thriving creativity and originality, something that we’re very proud to be a part of.”

Naomi Campbell, Victoria Beckham, Thandie Newton, Claudia Schiffer and Yasmin Le Bon were among the many celebrities attending the awards ceremony.

The Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator went to renowned stylist, Nicola Formichetti, who holds significant roles at high street and high end fashion brands as well as editorial roles at influential UK and international titles and is also stylist to pop icon Lady Gaga.

Alexa Chung was voted by the public for the British Style award which recognises “an individual who embodies the spirit of London and is an international ambassador for London as a leading creative fashion capital”.

The Designer Brand award was received by Mulberry.

Patrick Grant was awarded Menswear Designer for his label E. Tautz.

The Emerging Talent Awards for Ready-to-Wear and Accessories were received by Meadham Kirchhoff and Husam El Odeh respectively.

Lara Stone, face of Calvin Klein, was awarded the Model award.

Leading British footwear designer Nicholas Kirkwood went one step further than his previous Emerging Talent Award and collected the Accessory Designer award in this year’s ceremony.

From left to right: Naomi Campbell, Special Recognition Award. Nicola Formichetti (stylist of Lady Gaga), Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator. Lara Stone, Model Award. Photos by Billa Baldwin.

And we’re not done yet. The British Fashion Council added two new award categories to the list of awards for the first time.

The Digital Innovation award was collected by Burberry for its digital marketing innovations such as streaming all its fashion shows online since September 2009 and launching its Autumn/Winter 2010 collection as “a fully interactive, motion-responsive experience”.

Despite 2010 being a bad year for her because of the negative publicity she received from testifying in court for a blood diamonds case, Naomi Campbell was awarded the new Special Recognition award for her “influence on, and contribution to, the fashion industry over the last 25 years, during which time she has been a hugely influential ambassador for British fashion”


Leave a Reply

1 Comment

  1. December 20, 2010 / 6:16 pm

    I’m keen on people young and old who who blog regularly, it’s definitely very difficult to acquire this particular awareness just about any means. Fabulous work.

%d bloggers like this: